Kraftwerk Officially Inducted Into Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame

At the 36th Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, held Saturday, October 30, 2021, German electronic music pioneers Kraftwerk were officially inducted.

The inductees for the band are the classic lineup of Karl Bartos, Wolfgang Flür, Ralf Hütter and Florian Schneider.

“The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is a very special place,” noted Pharrell in his induction speech. “But I’m going to suggest that we create a new hall within the hall, reserved for artists who actually invented their genre, because Kraftwerk belongs there.”

Pharrell’s speech was followed by a video tribute from several artists, including Depeche Mode’s Martin Gore, LCD Soundsystem’s James Murphy, the Human League’s Philip Oakey and Run-DMC’s Darryl McDaniels.

Other inductees include Tina Turner, The Go-Go’s, Foo Fighters, Todd Rundgren, Billy Preston and others. To be eligible, artists are required to have released their first record 25 years prior to induction.